Organization Town of Champion
Board Planning Board

Date and Time

Tuesday, September 23 2003 at 7:30 PM

Place Town of Champion Offices Board Room (rear of building) 10 N Broad St, West Carthage

 $\mathbf{N}\mathbf{Y}$

Contact Peter LaBarge Planning Board Chairman

Minutes

The Town of Champion Planning Board meeting was called to order at 7:20 p.m. by Chairman Peter LaBarge. Attending were members James Surace, Frank Koster, Francis Brooks, and Kathryn Smith, as well as Zoning Enforcement Officer Brian Phelps and Councilman John Peck.

The minutes from the meeting September 9, 2003, were read. Peter LaBarge made a motion to accept the minutes and Frances Brooks seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Chairman LaBarge reported that the draft of the RACOG Subdivision Controls Project dated June 13, 2003, which was okayed by the board at its July 8 meeting, will be incorporated into our subdivision law.

In response to an inquiry from this board, Jefferson County Clerk JoAnn Wilder, advised Chairman LaBarge that she would like to have a meeting with the county planner, and representatives from the towns and the city of Watertown relative to the recording of real property plats and transfers. She stated that her office is mandated to record the properly prepared documents and the towns should be the enforcers. Mrs. Wilder further advised that with the lower interest rates, they are processing about 150 refinancing mortgages per week. With the banks lowering the acreage, resale is easier.

Zoning Officer Phelps advised that the real property office notifies the town assessors of any property splits and any lot line adjustment should be reviewed for mortgages. He further advised that the SEQR should be completed at the time of the acceptance of the preliminary application prior to the public hearing.

The Great Bend Project was briefly discussed with the majority of the board in favor of developing a plan but unsure of how to proceed. The chairman encouraged each member to visit Great Bend prior to the next meeting so they would be familiar with the hamlet. It was felt that it might be possible to develop a presentation for the Great Bend residents and they could provide some input.

The following Carthage Central School students attended the meeting: Benjamin Johnson, Desiray Coates, Misty Burrell, Michael Smith, Amber Rebb, Cameron Orr, Dawns Towles, Jarron Foster, Dustin Houppert, Chris Getman, Chris Habermann, Jeff Ashcraft Brian Cook and Kyle Dusharm.

Peter LaBarge made the motion to adjourn the meeting. Kathryn Smith seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 8:07 p.m. The next meeting will be held October 14, 2003.

Kathryn Smith Secretary